Author Berinn Rae


About the Author
Berinn Rae writes sci-fi romance and paranormal romance, and as Rachel Aukes, she writes sci-fi and horror. Berinn was raised on a farm in Iowa where she boasted the small town’s largest (and only) comic book collection. An obsessive reader and compulsive daydreamer, it was only a matter of time before she fell in love with writing stories starring women with kickassitude.

Berinn received an undergraduate degree from the University of Northern Iowa and master’s degree from Drake University. After college, she dove into the field of technology, from programming to process improvement, and finally to strategic management, where she served as Vice President of a Fortune 100 bank. When not writing, Berinn can be found flying old airplanes, watching Sci-Fi movies, and playing RPGs. She currently lives in the Midwest United States with her awesomely supportive husband and an incredibly spoiled sixty-pound lap dog.

Awards or Special Recognition
2013 RWA Silken Sands Star Award for best short story (Stealing Fate)
Selected as one of the top ten books of 2012 by Step Into Fiction blog (Collision)
2012 EPIC Finalist for best fantasy romance (Knightfall)
May 2014 Vaginal Fantasy Book Club alternate pick (Collision)

Story Inspiration 
Envy’s Revenge is a standalone short story about what happens after the end of the world. This scenario could take place on earth, in today’s times, or on another planet deep into the future (or past). I intentionally left the setting ambiguous so that the reader could envision her/his own picture of Envy’s world. Envy’s Revenge came about after I read a news story of a new virus that evolved from relatively innocuous bacteria. But that story wasn’t unique. Every year, we hear of frightening, new deadly diseases that mutate and evolve, some even jumping species. I realized how precarious our health can be in an ever-changing world. I thought about what could happen if a devastating virus targeted the human race…and so Envy was born.

Other Works by This Author
Rachel Aukes Books
  • Collision: Part 1 of the Colliding Worlds Trilogy
  • Implosion: Part 2 of the Colliding Worlds Trilogy
  • Explosion: Part 3 of the Colliding Worlds Trilogy
  • Stealing Fate - FREE SHORT STORY! 

Author Contact 

No comments:

Post a Comment